Claverhouse
25 Jul 2004, 11:45 PM
Since filecabinet has warned of Mr. Wise, it might be as well to warn also of this bloke, ( I posted it elsewhere a week or so back )
Anyone with Youvegotpost.com or www.owmail.com may be interested in a thread on another Forum EmailDiscussions detailing the misdeeds of the owner, a Mr. Smith, who not only voided all Gmail post passing through, but claims ownership over every email sent through his service(s) :D
It's not a very long thread, but worth reading; from the first post:
freemail provider www.youvegotpost.com has been under a great deal of scrutiny from the online community these last few weeks. It was very unpleasant to watch - essentially, youvegotpost began a promotion campaign, providing some subscribers with a gigabyte of storage space in the hope that YGP would see a serious spike in subscriber rates.
That they did, I would imagine, but they were also totally unprepared to deal with the load their servers would have to take.
Here's where things get unfortunate. As people began to test the service, Greg Lloyd Smith, the operator of the site, began to delete accounts en masse, and openly read emails from people's private boxes. When people wrote to complain, his replies usually involved foul language, and immediate deletion of their account.(see the neowin.com back page forum for more)
The long and short of it was that his site was pwn'd by an unknown group, and people let bygones be bygones.
This is where it gets interesting.
1) Greg Lloyd Smith now has set up *another* freemail site (where his name, naturally, appears nowhere) called www.owmail.com, which (naturally) looks identical to youvegotpost.com. And, he's added some features in the TOC that most people won't notice, most importantly that he will ERASE any email sent to or from a gmail provider, and give no notice that the email was not delivered to either party.
Anyway, lets leave that behind, for the moment.
quote:Title, ownership rights, and intellectual property rights in all content and material that is part of, contained in, or accessed through the OWMail! Service, and provided by either OWMail! or sponsors or any other content provider shall remain the sole property of OWMail! and/or its sponsors
2) As per the above, the site also claims that it owns the rights to any content that passes through it. Yes, ladies and gents, that includes your files. A bold claim, for a free web provider.
EmailDiscussion Thread on this (http://www.emailaddresses.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=23929)
An interesting gentleman, and one whom the prudent may avoid.
Someone else responded with this thread. ( Note it's from The Awful Forums, and like their other stuff, is not suitable for many people.
Who is this psychotic at owmail? (http://forums.somethingawful.com/showthread.php?threadid=1128013)
It runs to 6/7 pages. If you've not much time, just remember to avoid both providers. :D
Claverhouse :ph34r:
Anyone with Youvegotpost.com or www.owmail.com may be interested in a thread on another Forum EmailDiscussions detailing the misdeeds of the owner, a Mr. Smith, who not only voided all Gmail post passing through, but claims ownership over every email sent through his service(s) :D
It's not a very long thread, but worth reading; from the first post:
freemail provider www.youvegotpost.com has been under a great deal of scrutiny from the online community these last few weeks. It was very unpleasant to watch - essentially, youvegotpost began a promotion campaign, providing some subscribers with a gigabyte of storage space in the hope that YGP would see a serious spike in subscriber rates.
That they did, I would imagine, but they were also totally unprepared to deal with the load their servers would have to take.
Here's where things get unfortunate. As people began to test the service, Greg Lloyd Smith, the operator of the site, began to delete accounts en masse, and openly read emails from people's private boxes. When people wrote to complain, his replies usually involved foul language, and immediate deletion of their account.(see the neowin.com back page forum for more)
The long and short of it was that his site was pwn'd by an unknown group, and people let bygones be bygones.
This is where it gets interesting.
1) Greg Lloyd Smith now has set up *another* freemail site (where his name, naturally, appears nowhere) called www.owmail.com, which (naturally) looks identical to youvegotpost.com. And, he's added some features in the TOC that most people won't notice, most importantly that he will ERASE any email sent to or from a gmail provider, and give no notice that the email was not delivered to either party.
Anyway, lets leave that behind, for the moment.
quote:Title, ownership rights, and intellectual property rights in all content and material that is part of, contained in, or accessed through the OWMail! Service, and provided by either OWMail! or sponsors or any other content provider shall remain the sole property of OWMail! and/or its sponsors
2) As per the above, the site also claims that it owns the rights to any content that passes through it. Yes, ladies and gents, that includes your files. A bold claim, for a free web provider.
EmailDiscussion Thread on this (http://www.emailaddresses.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=23929)
An interesting gentleman, and one whom the prudent may avoid.
Someone else responded with this thread. ( Note it's from The Awful Forums, and like their other stuff, is not suitable for many people.
Who is this psychotic at owmail? (http://forums.somethingawful.com/showthread.php?threadid=1128013)
It runs to 6/7 pages. If you've not much time, just remember to avoid both providers. :D
Claverhouse :ph34r: