Thread: Conflict ISFJ vs. INTP

Type
    xNTP

Default Conflict ISFJ vs. INTP

I am new to all this, so I wanted to see if I could get some advice. So I have a ISFJ girlfriend, and I have discovered that the way I give critique is not working well. I have the tendency to analyze and break down problems really far and then when I try to relay this information she feels really hurt and uncomfortable.
    How would I go about approaching this matter in a better manner? I think my ability to look at the problem piece by piece is highly important and has helped in the past, but I also don't want to make problems worse if we are fighting by detailing unnecessary personal problems.

Type
    INTP

As the husband of an ISFJ:

1. Don't confront her about any problems you have unless they are sorely affecting your way of life. In fact, try to keep all confrontations to a minimum.

2. Listen to her. Yes, every little minute detail. She will appreciate your attention immensely.

3. Try not to "give critique," as this will always hurt her feelings. Any criticism you level toward her directly WILL BE TAKEN PERSONALLY. She will perceive that she has failed in some respect as a girlfriend/human being and will dig even deeper into her Introverted Sensing to try and correct the issue her own. Furthermore, you may find that the solution she arrives at will be IRRELEVANT to the issue at hand.

4. Work on taking a more relational, cooperative approach to solving mutual problems. It is very important to her that the two of you can collaborate in a peaceful environment free of criticism.

5. Do your best to keep your hard rational (thinking/critical) side internalized.

6. Try to remain optimistic at all times when dealing with her. An ISFJ can spot pessimism a mile off and will almost always react negatively to it.